North Carolina Study Videos for Your Permit
Xzelenz Media and driversprep.com offer several study videos on YouTube to help you prepare for the NC DMV test.
YouTube videos aren’t interactive like the practice tests on Driversprep.com or freedmvtest.info. Videos still give you valuable practice by not immediately revealing the correct answer. You get a few seconds to see if you really understand the question and can answer it correctly.
This sort of practice trains your brain to associate questions and answers and find the correct choice quicker. On timed tests this can prove very beneficial.
What You Should Know about the NC DMV Test
You must correctly identify 9 signs by shape, color, and symbols (80%).
The next step is a written knowledge test (on a computer) with 25 multiple-choice questions. The questions deals with safe driving techniques, North Carolina laws, and common road rules. You should have a good understanding of driving records and the point system. Test questions also deal with how alcohol affects your driving and what penalties you can expect if you are convicted of impaired driving.
In short, the North Carolina DMV test is one of the more challenging tests in the country.
You need 20 correct answers on the multiple-choice test to pass your driver’s exam.
Available Videos on YouTube
There are many videos about DMV testing on YouTube. The ones presented by driversprep.com is among the most trusted by driving schools a driving instructors.
The playlist currently has 7 videos, spanning from the first videos in 2015 to the latest videos added this year.
Some videos focus on the road sign recognition phase, others shows 25 multiple-choice question, and some mix up the questions.
NC Road Sign Recognition
The Privilege to Drive and Having a Driver’s License
You should know that driving in North Carolina is a legal privilege. A drivers license comes with a great responsibility. DMV loves to ask about this and to make sure you understand that without a driver license, it is against the law to:
- Drive a motor vehicle on streets and highways
- Sit in the driver’s seat of a motor vehicle while the engine is running
- Steer a motor vehicle while another vehicle pushes or tows it
This may pop up as the first question on your examination.
Adults Applying for the First Time
To get your first driver’s license you must be at least 18 years old and apply in person at a DMV driver license office. You must bring the following documents:
- A document with your full name that shows your identity and date of birth.
- A Social Security card or other legal document showing your Social Security number.
- Two documents, like utility bills or bank statements, verifying your address in North Carolina.
- A document proving your legal presence/lawful status, like a visa or green card, if you aren’t a U.S. citizen.
- One document proving liability insurance coverage (not required for a learner’s permit)
When DMV has approved your documents, you must pass the required knowledge exam, the road sign recognition test, and a vision test.
You may need a permit if you need to practice supervised driving before taking the driving test.
You may also take the driving test without a prior permit. If you pass, DMV will issue an unrestricted license.
Teens Applying for the First Time
Teens between 15 and 17 years must apply for a limited learner permit as part of a graduated licensing process (also known as GDL).
To qualify, you must get a Driving Eligibility Certificate and a Driver’s Education Certificate from an approved driver education course. A high school will usually issue the certificates if you are enrolled in school and making progress towards a high school diploma or GED.
You must bring:
- One document verifying your identity and date of birth
- A Social Security card or a document showing your Social Security number
- One document verifying your North Carolina residency and address
The purpose of a learner’s permit is to allow you to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed driver. The supervising driver must have been licensed for at least 5 years and must sit next to you whenever you practice driving. The supervising driver must be a parent, legal guardian, or grandparent – or been approved by a parent or legal guardian.
You are not allowed to drive alone, and during the first 6 months you may drive only between 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. The use of mobile devices is also prohibited.
You must practice driving for at least 60 hours during this phase.
Limited Provisional License
A limited provisional license is step 2 of the graduated licensing process.
Before applying for the provisional license, you must hold a learner’s permit for at least 12 months. You must also show a log of 60 hours of completed driving practice.
DMV will not issue the provisional license if your driving record shows moving violations or seat belt/mobile phone infractions within the last six months.
During this phase you may drive unsupervised from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m. You may also drive alone to/from work or any volunteer fire, rescue or emergency medical service.
You must complete 12 hours of additional driving during step 2.
Full Provisional License
After six months, some restrictions are lifted from your provisional license and you will have a full provisional license.
You cannot have any convictions of motor vehicle moving violations or seat belt/mobile telephone infractions within the last six months. DMV will also ask for a log of the additional 12 hours of driving.
As long as you are under 18 years, you must stay enrolled in school and be making progress toward a high school diploma or GED. If you drop out of school, you will lose your driving privilege.